Back to list


April 3, 2007

The Sherman Town Board met in regular session Tuesday, April 3, 2007, 7:30 p.m. at the Sherman Town Hall with President Robin Berg presiding.  

      Members present:  Robin Berg, Sandee Sutton, Gerry Karpen, Cheryl Swenson and Ann Thiel.

      Others present:  Ellen Karpen, Deidre Bonte, Neil Winterton, Toby Brown.

      Minutes of the March 6, 2007, meeting were approved as read. 

      The treasurerís report was read and approved.


Minnehaha Community Water Corp, water, $22.50; Argus Leader Media, March meeting minutes, Board of Equalization minutes, Annual Report, $110.90; Xcel Energy, electricity, $230.58; Ann Thiel, office supplies and mileage reimbursement, $68,55; Neil Winterton, 11 hours plowing, $99.00.


1.       Safety Benefits.  Target dates for completion of projects were reviewed.

2.       City clean-up day will be Saturday, May 5.  Thiel will call Bolteís Sunrise Service to have the dumpster delivered. 

3.       Centennial sign.  Karpen plans to have the sign restoration completed by mid-summer.

4.       Ordinances.  Toby Brown from SECOG reviewed chapters 1-6 of the proposed ordinances.  Chapters 7-12 will be reviewed at the May meeting.  Board members will meet on April 17 to refine chapters 1-6.


1.       Road grading.  Karpen will call Eldon Semmon to arrange for road grading and repair of Summer Ave.

2.       Picnic shelter.  Motion by Karpen, second by Sutton, to insure the picnic shelter for property damage for $9.00 per year.

3.       Mosquito control.  Minnehaha County will continue to spray in Sherman as it has done for the past two years.  The County offers additional mosquito control services should the City be interested. 

4.       Agenda.  Thiel will begin preparing the agenda effective next month.

5.       Roads.  Discussion regarding options for repair and maintenance of the City roads.  The South Dakota Department of Transportation Community Action Program has grants available.  This will be further researched.

Motion by Karpen to adjourn, second by Sutton.

The next regular meeting will be May 1, 2007, at 7:30 p.m.

††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Ann Thiel

Town Clerk


Back to list